

National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships Business Meeting Monday, Oct. 25, 2010 Minneapolis, MN. Minutes

Executive Board Members		
President:	Ted Ungricht (Utah Valley University)	
Past President:	Vacant	
Vice President:	Lynn Burbank (University of Minnesota, Duluth)	
Treasurer:	Kent Scheffel (Lewis & Clark Community College)	
Secretary:	Sandra Gonzalez (Schenectady County Community College)	
Member at Large:	Eric Young (Syracuse University)	

Committee Chairpersons and Representatives

Accreditation Committee:	Jan Erickson (University of Minnesota, Twin
	Cities)
Communications Committee:	Julie Williams (University of Minnesota, Twin
	Cities)
Governmental Relations Committee:	Spencer Childs (Utah Valley University)
Membership Committee:	Elena Samson (Finger Lakes Community College)
Research Committee:	Gillian Thorne (University of Connecticut)
4-year Private Postsecondary Institutions:	Dennis Waller (Northwest Nazarene University)
4-Year Public Postsecondary Institutions:	Ginger Ramsden (University of Southern
	Indiana, Evansville)
2-Year Postsecondary Institutions:	Peggy Sadler (Salt Lake Community College)

1 President Ted Ungricht called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m.

2 Treasurer Kent Scheffel conducted the roll call of eligible voters, confirming a quorum.

3 It was moved to approve the minutes of the last business meeting as read by Sandra Gonzalez.

4 The motion was seconded. A friendly amendment to change a reference to public schools to

5 private was accepted. Motion was unanimously approved.

6 COMMITTEE REPORTS

7 Each committee chairperson presented a brief report on committee activities.

8 CHANGE OF OFFICERS

- 9 Newly elected President Lynn Burbank thanked members and indicated her enthusiasm for the
- 10 future of concurrent enrollment and for NACEP. She introduced new committee chairpersons
- 11 and board member positions:

Accreditation Committee: Governmental Relations Committee:	Becky Carter (Indiana University) Jaclyn Dumond (University of Southern Indiana)
Membership Committee:	E.J. Anderson (Rio Salado College)
Secretary:	Ginger Ramsden (University of Southern
	Indiana)
Vice President:	Sandra Gonzalez (Schenectady County Community College)
Member at Large:	Elena Samson (Finger Lakes Community College)
4-Year Public Postsecondary Institutions:	Fabiola Juarez-Coca (Boise State University)

12 BYLAWS

- 13 It was moved and seconded to put the Bylaws on the table for discussion. The motion wasapproved.
- 15 It was moved, seconded, and approved to have the Bylaws reviewed for grammatical accuracy 16 after they are accented
- 16 after they are accepted.
- 17 It was moved and seconded to approve the following change in Article III.B: The Secretary or a
- 18 designee shall cause a notice of the annual business meeting to be sent to every Alliance
- 19 member in good standing at least ten days, but not more than fifty days, before the
- 20 scheduled date of such meeting. Such notice shall state the date, time, place and purpose of
- 21 the meeting and by whom called. The motion carried.
- 22 It was moved and seconded to approve the following change in Article IV.J: At all meetings of
- 23 the Board, the President, or in his/her absence, the President-elect, or in his/her absence, a
- 24 chair chosen by the Board, shall preside. The motion carried.
- 25 It was moved and seconded to approve the following change in Article V.A.: **The Executive**
- 26 Committee shall manage the general operations of the Alliance and implement directives
- 27 from the Board of Directors. Members of the Executive Committee include: the President,
- 28 President-elect, Secretary, Treasurer, Immediate Past President and Member-at-Large.
- 29 With the exception of the Treasurer, the Executive Committee members will serve for two
- 30 (2) years and may not serve more than two consecutive terms in the same position. The
- 31 **President-elect shall move into the President's position after one (1) two-year term as**
- 32 President-elect. The Treasurer is an appointed position, appointed by the President and

- 33 approved by the Board of Directors. The Treasurer may serve an unlimited number of
- 34 consecutive terms. Committee Chairpersons will serve for one (1) year and may succeed
- 35 **themselves**. After discussion on the six-year commitment involved for the President-elect,
- 36 President and past President positions, a call for the vote was made and seconded. The motion
- 37 carried.
- 38 It was moved and seconded to approve the following change in Article V.B: **The Board of**
- 39 Directors shall number no less than thirteen (13). Members of the Board of Directors shall
- 40 include: the NACEP Executive Committee (President, President-elect, Secretary,
- 41 Treasurer, Member-at- Large, Immediate-Past President), the five Chairpersons of the
- 42 Standing Committees and one (1) Representative from among the following three
- 43 Institutional categories: Four-year Public Postsecondary Institution, Four-year Private
- 44 **Postsecondary Institution, and Two-Year Postsecondary Institution.** The motion carried.
- 45 It was moved and seconded to approve the following change in Article V.D.2: The President-
- 46 elect is an elected position and shall: Succeed the President after one (1) two-year term as
- 47 **President-elect.** The motion carried.
- 48 It was moved and seconded to approve the following change in Article V.D.6: **Qualifications:**
- 49 To be nominated as an Executive Committee Member or a Director, the individual shall
- 50 represent an Accredited College and University Member Institution that has been an
- 51 Alliance member in good standing for at least one (1) year prior to election to office. To be
- 52 nominated as President-elect, the individual shall have served on the NACEP board. If an
- 53 Executive Committee position is vacant the President shall appoint, with the Board of
- 54 Directors' concurrence, a Committee Chairperson to serve until the Executive Position is
- 55 **filled.** Discussion clarified that the previous board experience could be in any position for any
- 56 length of time. The motion carried.
- 57 It was moved and seconded to approve the following change in Article X, 2nd paragraph: **Each**
- 58 **standing Committee shall report to the Executive Committee.** The motion carried.
- 59 It was moved and seconded to approve the following proposal regarding all articles in the
- Bylaws: all references to Vice-President will be changed to President-elect. The motion
 carried.
- 62 It was moved and seconded to approve the following change in Standing Rule 11: **To be**
- 63 nominated as President-elect, the individual shall have served on the NACEP Board. The
- 64 motion carried.
- 65 It was moved and seconded to approve a revised schedule of elections in Standing Rule 14. **The**
- 66 revised schedule balances the rotation of terms on the Board of Directors by lengthening
- 67 the next term for the Member-at-Large by one year, and adjusts for the change in
- 68 terminology from Vice President to President-elect. The motion carried and the revised
- 69 schedule will be included in the Bylaws.
- 70 It was moved and seconded to adjourn the meeting at 6 p.m. Meeting adjourned.